Useful tips

Do Michigan school buses have cameras?

Do Michigan school buses have cameras?

Gretchen Whitmer signed two bills that allow schools to equip buses with cameras on stop arms to watch for drivers passing illegally. Theede said Grand Blanc buses currently have cameras on their dashboards, which they have used to find drivers who have passed buses illegally.

Can you pass a school bus with flashing yellow lights in Michigan?

When a school buses’ overhead lights are flashing yellow or red, drivers should be prepared to stop. When hazard warning lights are flashing, drivers should proceed with caution.

How long can a child legally be on a school bus in Michigan?

Child care licensing regulations establish a maximum riding time of 60 continuous minutes for the transportation of preschool children.

How much is a ticket for passing a school bus in Michigan?

The fine for passing a stopped school bus in Michigan is anywhere from $100 to $500, and that doesn’t include court costs.

What is the speed limit for a school bus in Michigan?

School buses’ maximum highway and freeway speed limit will increase from 55 mph/60 mph to 65 mph: Until now, the law provided that a school bus “shall not exceed the speed of 55 miles per hour” on highways and “shall not exceed a speed of 60 miles per hour on a freeway if the maximum speed limit on that freeway is 70 …

Are bus drivers allowed to reverse?

In a nutshell, YES! Buses can reverse with passengers on provided it is safe to do so. There nothing in law that prevents this. The ‘old rule’ where LT buses were not permitted to reverse is just an old union agreement, that buses with passengers on were not permitted to reverse unless the passengers were ‘de-bussed’.

How do school bus stop signs work?

If a school bus or a school pupil transport vehicle has its lights flashing and a stop sign extended, you must stop. It is the law. It does not matter which side of the road you are traveling on. Remain stopped until the lights stop flashing or the stop sign folds back.

When to stop for a school bus in Michigan?

School bus safety tips for drivers: Prepare to stop when a slowing bus has its overhead yellow lights flashing. Stop at least 20 feet away for buses when red lights are flashing, unless driving in the opposite direction on a divided highway. Slow down in or near school and residential areas.

Is it safe to ride a school bus?

School buses are the safest mode of transportation for getting children back and forth to school. Riding in a school bus is safer than walking, riding a bicycle, or being driven to school in private vehicles. Today’s school buses are built with safety in mind.

What does the Asbi do for school buses?

The ASBI will help identify violation trends that can be relayed to school districts and contractors. Access to this information, combined with appropriate response by the transportation industry, will help ensure that school buses in Michigan continue to be the safest vehicle for transporting children to and from school.

What happens if you get hit by a school bus?

The majority of bus-related deaths and injuries involve pedestrians – mostly children – who are struck by a bus or injured when they are exiting the bus to cross traffic. Those who pass stopped school buses may be charged with civil infractions carrying a fine between $100 and $500.

Share this post