Common questions

What is the classification of polar bears?

What is the classification of polar bears?

Polar bear/Class
Genus, Species – Ursus Maritimus Ursus maritimus is Latin for “sea bear”. The polar bear is the only bear considered to be a marine mammal. It is only partially aquatic though, and the least aquatic of all marine mammals.

What are the 7 levels of classification for the polar bear?


  • Kingdom: Animalia.
  • Phylum: Chordata.
  • Class: Mammalia.
  • Order: Carnivora (15 families)
  • Family: Ursidae (bears)
  • Genus: Ursus (bears)
  • Species: Ursus maritimus (polar bear)
  • Describer (Date): Phipps (1774:p.185) A Voyage Towards North Pole, London: J. Nourse for Ursus maritimus.

What kingdom is polar bear?

Polar bear/Kingdom

Why is polar bear skin black?

The outer layer of hair is clear – and a polar bear’s skin is black. Polar bears evolved to have black skin, as the colour is the best for absorbing energy from the sun. The clear fur allows this sunlight to get to the skin – but it still looks white, so that the bear can blend in with its environment of ice and snow.

What do you call a female polar bear?

Polar Bears and Their Families. Pregnant females polar bears (called sows) build snow dens. Give birth to 1-3 cubs. Cubs are born 12 to 14 inches long and weigh little more than a pound. They are blind, toothless, and covered with short, soft fur.

What are the names of different types polar bears?

15 Types of Polar Bears – Characteristics Polar Bear. Polar bear ( Ursus maritimus) in the first rank of the other species of bear. Spectacled Bear. The spectacled bear is the only bear native to South America and it’s the only short-faced bear left in the world. Sun Bear. Sloth Bear. American Black Bear. Lousiana Black Bear. Florida Black Bear. Giant Panda. Spirit Bear. Grizzly Bear.

How is a polar bear classified?

Polar bears are classified as marine mammals because they spend most of their lives on the sea ice of the Arctic Ocean. They have a thick layer of body fat and a water-repellant coat that insulates them from the cold air and water.

What is the class of the polar bear?

Polar bears belong to the class mammalia because they possess mammalian traits. Mammalian traits include mammary glands and female bear nurse their young with milk. The milk is secreted from the mammary glands.

Share this post