What is mastery-based diploma assessment?

What is mastery-based diploma assessment?

The term ​mastery-based learning​ refers to systems of instruction,​ ​assessment​,​ grading, and academic reporting that are based on students demonstrating mastery of the knowledge and skills they are expected to learn before they are promoted to the next grade level, or receive a high school diploma.

What is mastery-based learning?

Mastery-based learning is an instructional approach where students need to demonstrate a deep level of understanding of a topic or subject area before progressing onto another topic or subject area.

What is a proficiency based diploma?

Simply put, a proficiency-based diploma is a graduation decision based on students demonstrating what they have learned. For more than a century, American high school students have earned “credits” for passing courses. When they accumulate enough credits, they receive a diploma.

How many credits do you need to graduate high school in Connecticut?

25 credits
What Does the State of Connecticut Require to Graduate from High School with a Diploma? Beginning with the incoming class of freshmen in the 2019-2020 school year, Connecticut will require students to obtain a minimum of 25 credits to graduate high school, up from 20 credits required for classes before.

Why is proficiency-based learning?

Proficiency-based learning is designed to identify and address gaps to provide equitable learning opportunities for every student. This is in contrast to traditional systems which advance students based on seat time. Read more about “What is proficiency-based learning?”.

Is GED and HSE the same?

The difference between an HSED and a GED is not hugely significant, but there are cases where the HSED is preferred. Though both credentials are technically the same, a GED only indicates that you’ve passed a test, whereas an HSED indicates that you’ve passed a test and completed some other coursework.

How many credits do you need to pass junior year?

11.5 credits
You must earn 11.5 credits to become a Junior and 17.5 credits to become a Senior. If you pass everything during the school year you will have earned 7 credits each year giving you 28 credits. You must have earned at least 24.5 to graduate.

Share this post