Common questions

Who are the candidates for president of Tanzania?

Who are the candidates for president of Tanzania?

A total of 453 of 456 party general council delegates attended the conference. The three names passed on by the central committee for the general council to vote on were, Tundu Lissu (405 votes), Lazaro Nyalandu (36 votes) and Mayrose Majige (1 vote), with Lissu chosen as CHADEMA’s Union presidential candidate.

Why was advance observer team sent to Tanzania?

During its mission, the Advance Observer Team consulted key electoral stakeholders in order to assess the electoral environment and the state of preparedness of the election management bodies in mainland Tanzania and Zanzibar.

When did the Commonwealth Observer Group leave Tanzania?

The Commonwealth Observer Group you deployed to observe the elections in the United Republic of Tanzania on 25 October 2015 has completed its report, and is pleased to submit it to you.

How old do you have to be to be an MP in Tanzania?

Article 39 (1) of the 1977 Constitution requires candidates to be Tanzanian citizens by birth, at least 40 years old, be nominated by a political party of which they are a member, be qualified to be an MP or a member of the Zanzibar House of Representatives, and not have any convictions related to tax evasion.

What kind of government does Magufuli have in Tanzania?

Magufuli’s CCM party, a version of which has held power in Tanzania since independence from Britain in 1961, had already retained power in the semi-autonomous Indian Ocean archipelago of Zanzibar with 76 percent of the vote.

Who is the biggest challenger to Magufuli in Tanzania?

Tundu Lissu, Magufli’s biggest challenger, heads the country’s biggest opposition party CHADEMA. After surviving an assassination attempt three years ago, he returned to the country in time to run for this year’s polls. Lissu has already spoken out today via Twitter about wide spread voter suppression.

Share this post