Useful tips

What are the major centers of Shia Islam?

What are the major centers of Shia Islam?

The two leading centers of Shia learning in the modern world are Najaf, in southern Iraq, and Qom, in northern Iran. As the site of the tomb of Imam Ali, Najaf was for centuries the center of Shia learning in the Middle East.

Where do Shia go for pilgrimage?

Mecca is the only pilgrimage site officially accepted by all Muslims, but Iran and Iraq are home to a number of sites considered holy to the Shia faithful: Hussein was buried at Karbala, for example, and the tomb of Ali is in nearby Najaf.

Who is the leader of the Shia?

They believe God chose Ali to be Muhammad’s successor, infallible, the first caliph (khalifah, head of state) of Islam. The Shia believe that Muhammad designated Ali as his successor by God’s command (Eid Al Ghadir).

Which is the most holy site for Shia Muslims?

Shia Muslims consider sites associated with Muhammad, his family members ( Ahl al-Bayt ), Shia Imams and their family members to be holy. After the four holy cities of Islam ( Mecca, Medina, Jerusalem and Damascus ), Najaf, Karbala and Qom are the most revered by Shias. Kaaba (Arabic: The Cube) is the most sacred site in Islam.

Where are the four holiest sites in Islam?

The four holiest sites in Islam are Mecca, Medina, Jerusalem and Damascus. The two holiest sites of Mecca and Medina in Saudi Arabia are directly mentioned or referred to in the Quran.

Where are the tombs of Shia imams located?

The Sayyidah Ruqayya Mosque in Damascus, Syria contains the tomb of Sukayna bint Husayn, the youngest daughter of Hussein ibn Ali, often referred to by her title: “Ruqayya” . The Al-Kadhimiya Mosque in Baghdad, Iraq contains the tombs of Musa al-Kadhim, seventh Shia Imam and Muhammad al-Taqi, ninth Shia Imam.

What’s the percentage of Shia Muslims in Iraq?

63.7% of the Iraq’s national population is made up of Shia Muslims. The sect accounts for 63% of all Muslims in Iraq. The country is home to some of the Shia common pilgrimage sites and holy cities including Najaf, the tomb of Ali ibn Abi Talib, Muhammad’s successor and Karbala, the tomb of Husayn ibn Ali, Muhammad’s grandson.

Share this post