How do I get a VA towing license?
Apply for Tow Truck Driver Registration
- Login to www.dcjs.virginia.gov/online and click “Create New Account” and pay the applicable non-refundable fee.
- Schedule an appointment for fingerprints. Schedule an appointment at www.fieldprintvirginia.com or call 877-614-4364.
Do you need a CDL to drive a tow truck in Virginia?
Virginia law requires drivers to hold an active CDL when they are driving: Class A vehicles that are used to tow heavy weight. In addition, the towed vehicle must weigh more than 10,000 pounds. Class B vehicles that weigh more than 26,000 pounds and tow other vehicles under 10,000 pounds.
How do I register a tow truck in Virginia?
If you already have a Virginia title for the tow truck and the title is in your possession, complete the “Application for Registration” (form VSA-14). Otherwise, complete the “Application for Certificate of Title and Registration” (form VSA-17A). If titling the vehicle, submit proof of address.
Do tow truck drivers make good money?
What Is The Average Tow Truck Driver Salary? The average tow truck driver salary is $35,425 per year, or $17.03 per hour, in the United States. People on the lower end of that spectrum, the bottom 10% to be exact, make roughly $29,000 a year, while the top 10% makes $43,000. As most things go, location can be critical.
Can tow truck drivers carry guns in Virginia?
Contrary to what many drivers believe, there is no federal law that prohibits truck drivers from carrying guns in their trucks as long as they adhere to local and state laws. However, many carriers prohibit company drivers from carrying weapons.
Who regulates towing companies in Virginia?
the Board of Towing and Recovery Operators
Basis: Section 46.2-2805 of the Code of Virginia grants to the Board of Towing and Recovery Operators the authority to establish qualifications for licensure, regulate, collect licensure fees, and discipline persons and enterprises engaging in the towing of vehicles.
Do you need a CDL for a tow truck?
Guidance: For CDL purposes, the tow truck and its towed vehicle are treated the same as any other powered unit towing a non-powered unit. If the GCWR of the tow truck is 26,001 pounds or more and the towed vehicle alone exceeds 10,000 pounds GVWR, then the driver needs a Class A CDL.
Can tow trucks run plates?
Yes, Repossession tow truck companies have a system that reads license plates. This system will only alert the driver if your vehicle is up for repossession. Another reason for a towing company to run your license plate is to notify you that your vehicle has been impounded.
Should you tip the tow truck driver?
The general rule of thumb that people typically follow is that you should tip your tow truck driver or roadside assistance $5 for smaller jobs and $10 for a larger one. Smaller jobs can include a flat tire, jumpstart or locksmith service if you locked yourself out of your car.
How much can you make being a tow truck driver?
A mid career Tow Truck Driver with 4-9 years of experience earns an average compensation of about AU$56,000, while an experienced Tow Truck Driver with 10-20 years of experience makes on average AU$64,000. Tow Truck Drivers with more than 20 years of experience earn AU$65,000 per year on average.