What is considered the New York metro area?

What is considered the New York metro area?

The metropolitan area includes New York City (the most populous city in the United States), Long Island, and the Mid and Lower Hudson Valley in New York State; the five largest cities in New Jersey: Newark, Jersey City, Paterson, Elizabeth, and Edison, and their vicinities; and six of the seven largest cities in …

What is a metro area population?

Each metropolitan statistical area must have at least one urbanized area of 50,000 or more inhabitants. Each micropolitan statistical area must have at least one urban cluster of at least 10,000 but less than 50,000 population.

What is the population of each NYC borough?


New York City’s five boroughs v t e
Jurisdiction Population
Manhattan New York 1,694,251
Queens Queens 2,405,464
Staten Island Richmond 495,747

What is the most populated borough in the NYC?

Brooklyn is located in Kings County. It is the most populous borough in New York with an estimated population of 2,621,793 spread over an area of 71 square miles. It is the densest borough in New York and the second most densely populated county in the country. Brooklyn is famous for the Brooklyn Bridge, a unique hanging bridge.

What is the current population of New York?

20,215,750 in 2020

What are The racial demographics of New York City?

According to the most recent ACS, the racial composition of New York City was: White: 42.78% Black or African American: 24.32% Other race: 15.12% Asian: 14.00% Two or more races: 3.33% Native American: 0.40% Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander : 0.05%

Is the population of New York City increasing?

The population of New York in 2020 was 19,336,776, a 0.65% decline from 2019. The population of New York in 2019 was 19,463,131 , a 0.41% decline from 2018. The population of New York in 2018 was 19,544,098, a 0.25% decline from 2017.

Share this post