Useful tips

What is the difference between the Australian Curriculum and the NSW curriculum?

What is the difference between the Australian Curriculum and the NSW curriculum?

The Australian Curriculum has general stage statements for each stage; this is not the same as the NSW stage statements. The NSW Syllabus spends more time explaining the depth to which content is to be covered.

Does NSW follow the Australian Curriculum?

From 2010, NSW joined with the Australian Government and all other states and territories to develop an Australian Curriculum. The development and monitoring of the Australian Curriculum is coordinated by the Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA).

What subjects are being dropped from the NSW curriculum?

Subjects such as puppetry and wearable art will be ditched in New South Wales to allow teachers to focus on the basics of English, maths and science – in the biggest curriculum change in 30 years.

Where can I find the school curriculum?

All K–10 syllabuses and Years 11 and 12 syllabuses are available on the NESA website. For general curriculum enquiries contact [email protected]….Syllabuses

  • knowledge.
  • understanding.
  • skills.
  • values and.
  • attitudes.

Is the Australian Curriculum good?

Curriculum in Australia is very high-level. We provide much less curricular support and fewer instructional resources than what is provided to teachers in Canada, Finland, Singapore, Hong Kong and other countries at the top of the global rankings.

What is the purpose of the Australian Curriculum?

The Australian Curriculum sets consistent national standards to improve learning outcomes for all young Australians. It sets out, through content descriptions and achievement standards, what students should be taught and achieve, as they progress through school.

Which Australian states use the Australian Curriculum?


  • Australian Capital Territory.
  • New South Wales.
  • Northern Territory.
  • Queensland.
  • South Australia.
  • Tasmania.
  • Victoria.
  • Western Australia.

What is the current Australian Curriculum?

The Australian Curriculum is made up of 8 learning areas. These learning areas are English; Mathematics; Science; Humanities and Social Sciences; The Arts; Technologies; Health and Physical Education as well as Languages. ACARA has also published the Australian Curriculum: Work Studies, which is an optional subject.

Who is the Australian Curriculum designed for?

The Australian Curriculum is designed to develop successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens.

Who makes the Australian Curriculum?

ACARA has been funded by the Australian Government and all state and territory Governments to develop the Australian Curriculum. Curriculum has been published for 8 learning areas.

How is the Australian Curriculum implemented in NSW?

NSW will implement the Australian curriculum through new syllabuses. The Board of Studies will provide notification and information about changes to NSW syllabuses as they are approved by the NSW Minister for Education.

Why do we need cross curriculum in NSW?

Cross curriculum content enriches and supports the learning areas and adds depth to student learning. The NSW Government is reforming the curriculum from Kindergarten to Year 12 so every student is prepared and ready for their future.

What does the Board of studies do in NSW?

The Board regularly publishes memorandums and news items to provide schools, teachers and the public with important information about the Australian curriculum in NSW. The Board of Studies maintains a register of curriculum writers and reviewers to undertake tasks at various times of the year on a range of curriculum support projects.

When is the public consultation window for the Australian Curriculum?

The public consultation window for the Australian Curriculum Review is now open until 8 July 2021. The Australian Curriculum is being reviewed to ensure it is continuing to meet the needs of students now and into the future. A project supporting the implementation of the Australian Curriculum: Digital Technologies.

Share this post