Common questions

What is the First Class Scout badge?

What is the First Class Scout badge?

The first class scout badge is obtained after one has completed the Tenderfoot and Second Class Ranks. After obtaining First Class, almost all of the basic skills have been taught and tested. This shows that a Scout is able to point the right way in life as truly as the compass points it in the field.

What do the stars on the first class badge mean?

The two stars stand for truth and knowledge. The Eagle stands for the freedom of the United States. The shield on the Eagle represents a Scout’s readiness to defend that freedom.

What merit badges are required for first class?

Good Eagle-required merit badges to earn at summer camp are Swimming, Environmental Science, Communications, Camping, Cooking, First Aid, and Lifesaving. If available, both Citizenship in the Nation and Citizenship in the World are also good candidates.

What is the rarest Boy Scout badge?

merit badge
Let’s take a deep dive into the complete list — from 2019’s most popular merit badge to its rarest….The actual top 10.

Rank Merit Badge 2019 earned
1 First Aid 62,352
2 Swimming 59,074
3 Camping 52,328
4 Citizenship in the World 50,700

What percentage of Boy Scouts make it to Eagle?

8% percent
In 2019, 8% percent of all Scouts BSA earned the Eagle Scout rank.

How long do you have to be a First Class Scout?

The number of Scouts achieving First Class within one year of joining is still one of the key measures of unit effectiveness. Studies have shown that if a Scout achieves First Class within a year of joining, he typically stays in the Scout program for at least three years.

What are the 4 steps of Scout advancement?

There are four basic steps in Scout advancement, and they apply to all six ranks.

  • Step 1: The Scout learns. They learns Scouting skills by taking an active, hands-on part in troop and patrol meetings and outdoor programs.
  • Step 2: The Scout is tested.
  • Step 3: The Scout is reviewed.
  • Step 4: The Scout is recognized.

What does the Eagle badge represent?

To certain Native American tribes, it stood for valor and as a pledge of victory. For Americans today, the eagle is the living symbol of all courageous and freedom-aspiring Americans.

What are the easiest merit badges?

The 3 simplest merit badges that any scout can earn are Art, Fingerprinting and Photography. These badges require few supplies and can be quickly completed in an afternoon.

What is the hardest merit badge to get?

The 5 Most Difficult Merit Badges In Scouting (And How To Earn…

  • Snow Sports is very difficult if you’re a scout living in Hawaii.
  • Gardening is difficult if you don’t have access to a garden.
  • Aviation is difficult if you don’t have access to a flight simulator.
  • Horsemanship is difficult if you don’t have a horse.

What does BSA stand for in training?

– Boy Scout Handbook . Scouts BSA (also known as Boy Scouts, the official name until 2019) is the flagship membership level of the Boy Scouts of America (BSA) for boys and girls between the ages of 11 and 17. It provides youth training in character, citizenship, and mental and personal fitness.

What is Scouts BSA?

Boy Scouts of America uses four primary programs to achieve its aims in Scouting: Cub Scouting is available to youth from kindergarten through fifth grade. Scouts BSA (formerly Boy Scouts) is the flagship program of the BSA for youth ages 11 to 18; 10-year-olds can join if they have completed fifth grade or if they Venturing is the program for ages 14 to 21.

What are the requirements for first class?

At present, the First Class requirements include: Camping: Participate in three overnight campouts, and seven other troop outings (5 more than Second Class; 9 more than Tenderfoot) Citizenship: Discuss citizenship with a selected community leader (this in addition to the requirements related to the American Flag for Tenderfoot and Second Class).

What are the requirements for the First Aid merit badge?

Requirements for the First Aid merit badge: Demonstrate to your counselor that you have current knowledge of all first-aid requirements for Tenderfoot, Second Class, and First Class ranks. Explain how you would obtain emergency medical assistance from: Your home. A remote location on a wilderness camping trip. An activity on open water.

Share this post