Common questions

Do God cards have summoning sickness?

Do God cards have summoning sickness?

Yes. Everything gets summoning sickness, it just doesn’t do anything unless that card is a creature.

Are Theros Gods creatures in your library?

Yes. The devotion ability of the Theros gods only functions while they’re on the battlefield. The card is a creature card when it’s in the hand, library, exile, or outside of the game, and is a creature spell when it’s on the stack.

How does Theros Gods work?

The gods of Theros send their servants out into the world to bestow their blessings upon the worthy. A creature with bestow gives you the option to cast it as an Aura that enchants a creature, granting that creature its power, toughness, and abilities.

Do phased out creatures have summoning sickness?

Phasing doesn’t have any effect on “summoning sickness” and never has. When a creature phases out, it is still considered being on the battlefield (albeit its still phased out). So really, when a creature phases back in, it will never have summoning sickness.

Is a God a creature in the graveyard?

Yes you can. The Gods will always be creatures anywhere but the battlefield (they’ll be creatures on the battlefield if you have enough devotion). So you can scavenge them with Varolz.

Are Gods creatures in your hand?

MTG Salvation The Gods all have abilities that function only on the battlefield. Anywhere else, they are always creatures and enchantments, so they can’t be discarded for Duress. This FAQ answers many of the common questions asked in the MTGS Rulings forum.

Does phasing in count as ETB?

Does phasing trigger ETB or LTB effects? No, it doesn’t. For the same reason that auras and equipments don’t fall off during phasing, ETB (enter the battlefield) and LTB (leave the battlefield) triggers don’t go off. Because the permanent didn’t change zones, nothing left or entered the battlefield.

Can you cast spells while phased out?

Spells and abilities can also cause permanents to phase in or out. When a permanent phases out, it is treated as though it didn’t exist; a phased-out permanent can’t be affected by anything in the game that doesn’t specifically mention phased-out permanents.

Does devotion count graveyard?

You only count Devotion from the permenants (creatures, enchantments, artifacts, and lands) you control on the Battlefield. This includes enchantments you may have played on your opponent’s cards. Cards in hand, graveyard, exile, library, Command zone, or on the stack (casting) do not count for Devotion.

Is Erebos a creature in the graveyard?

Erebos, Bleak-Hearted As long as your devotion to black is less than five, Erebos isn’t a creature.

Are God cards creatures?

Yes. It always has the creature type when on the stack (though that makes it a creature spell or a creature card, not simply a creature).

Do you get summoning sickness on your first turn?

No. But if they become a creature on their first turn, then yes. Summoning sickness means that a creature can’t attack or use abilities with the tap symbol in the cost unless you’ve controlled it since the start of your turn.

Do you get summoning sickness when you turn Gideon into a creature?

He will have summoning sickness, although you could still use Gideon’s planeswalker abilities because he isn’t affected by the summoning sickness. Though if you decide to use his +0 ability and turn him into a creature he will then be affected by his summoning sickness.

What kind of summoning sickness do Planeswalkers have?

Every creature has summoning sickness. This includes regular creatures, creature-lands (dyrad arbor, hissing quagmire), artifacts creatures, artifacts that TURN INTO creatures (vehicles), enchantments (opalescence), enchantments that turn into creatures (myth realized) and planeswalkers that turn into creatures (Gideon, Sarkhan).

Share this post