How are Texas teachers evaluated?

How are Texas teachers evaluated?

Texas Teacher Evaluation and Support System (T-TESS) Certified appraisers sit in on classes and record their observations in order to provide the feedback needed to help teachers improve their teaching methodologies. Strategies are then put forth to improve and modify teaching practices based on these observations.

What is the T-Tess rubric?

The T-TESS Rubric provides the framework to define and demonstrate how the domains, dimensions and descriptors support teachers as they implement strategies in ways that address specific student learning needs.

Who can appraise teachers in Texas?

(a) All school districts have two choices in selecting a method to appraise teachers: a teacher appraisal system recommended by the commissioner of education or a local teacher appraisal system.

How does T-Tess crosswalk help a teacher?

It focuses on using the observation descriptors and five performance levels to guide feedback and encourage teacher goal setting and growth. Designed to support the needs of early childhood professionals to improve teacher-child interactions and provide high quality early learning experiences to all children.

How do I get Tess certification?

How to Get to the T-TESS Certification Test

  1. Login to the site by clicking on the ‘Login’ link on the top menu.
  2. Login with your Username and Password on the ‘Login’ Page.
  3. Click on the ‘Appraisers’ link on the top menu.
  4. On the ‘Appraisers’ page click on the ‘Certification Test’ link on the left menu.

What are T-Tess evaluations based on?

Ultimately, T-TESS is a process that seeks to develop habits of continuous improvement, and the process itself best leads to that outcome when appraisers and teachers focus on evidence-based feedback and professional development decisions based on that feedback through ongoing dialogue and collaboration.

What are the domains of the T-Tess teacher evaluation?

Rubric: The T-TESS rubric consists of four domains: Planning, Instruction, Learning Environment, and Professional Practices and Responsibilities.

What are the 3 main areas of the T-Tess triangle?

T-TESS includes three components: Goal-setting and professional development plan. The evaluation cycle (including: pre-conference, observation, post-conference) Student growth measure.

What does the T-Tess triangle mean?

The T-TESS performance dimensions have been consolidated into the rubric’s four domains: Planning, Instruction, Learning Environment, and Professional Practices and Responsibilities.

What is AEL certification?

Advancing Educational Leadership (formerly known as Instructional Leadership Development or ILD) training is a three (3) day, state-developed training designed to prepare school leaders with the knowledge and tools necessary for instructional leadership.

What is the Texas teacher evaluation and support system?

The Texas Teacher Evaluation and Support System (T-TESS) focuses on providing continuous, timely and formative feedback to educators so they can improve their practice. Teacher Standards (outside source) – The Texas Teacher Standards are aspirational standards that inform all phases of a teacher’s career (TAC 149, Subchapter AA) (outside source).

When to apply for teacher appraisal waivers in Texas?

The Texas Education Agency has posted guidance for school districts on Educator Appraisal Waivers for the 2020-2021 school year if needed. Please review the TEA website and documents listed below for specific details and updates.

How to support early childhood educators in Texas?

The Texas Education Agency actively supports early childhood educators via professional development, resource provision, and on-demand support. To access a comprehensive list of available resources, visit the ECE Resources page.

What’s the purpose of the teacher evaluation process?

The purpose of the teacher’s role during this process is to share insights and think about his or her pedagogy and professional practices. A goal of the evaluation process is to include the teacher in a systematic way that assists with individualized professional growth and development.

Share this post